CRANBERRY HOUSE

2012 Events Daily List

other years

All events are at Cranberry House, unless otherwise noted

JANUARY   calendar
6 Jan Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
13 Jan Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
20 Jan Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
27 Jan Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
FEBRUARY   calendar
3 Feb Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
10 Feb Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
17 Feb Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
24 Feb Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
MARCH   calendar
2 Mar Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
9 Mar Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
16 Mar Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
23 Mar Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
30 Mar Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
APRIL   calendar
3 Apr Tue Seaside Playhouse: First Movie of the season, 7:30 pm
(continuing every Tuesday and Saturday thru October)
7 Apr Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
10 Apr Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
14 Apr Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
17 Apr Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
21 Apr Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
24 Apr Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
28 Apr Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
MAY   calendar
1 May Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
5 May Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
8 May Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
12 May Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
15 May Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
19 May Sat Guided Bird Walk by Terry Towne of Maine Coast Heritage Trust, 7:45 @ Town Dock
Movie, 7:30 pm
22 May Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
26 May Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
29 May Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
JUNE   calendar
2 Jun Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
5 Jun Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
9 Jun Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
12 Jun Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
14 Jun Thu First Thursday Movie of the season, 7:30 pm
(continuing every Thursday thru Sept 13)
16 Jun Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
19 Jun Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
21 Jun Thu Movie, 7:30 pm
23 Jun Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
26 Jun Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
27 Jun Wed Historic Slide Show by Phil Whitney, 7:30 pm
28 Jun Thu Movie, 7:30 pm
29 Jun Fri Pirates!
Kid's Pirate Picnic
, 12 noon @ Whistler's Cove
Stories of the Sea & Piracy with Jen "McBoo" Bliss, 2 pm
Meet the Artists, 4:30pm
Open Mic, 7:30 pm
30 Jun Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
JULY   calendar
1 Jul Sun Open House, 11:30 am, with:
Mainely Maine Chorus Barbershop Quartet
Ruth Westphal 4th of July Retrospective
3 Jul Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
4 Jul Wed Yoga Class, 8 am
Movie, 7:30 pm (moved from July 5)
5 Jul Thu Yard Sale, 10 am
Ann Filemyr Poetry Reading, 7:30 pm
No Movie (moved to July 4)
6 Jul Fri Yoga Class, 8 am
Talk by Charles Dunbar, 7:30 pm
7 Jul Sat Hawaiian Island Hula Dancers, 5 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
8 Jul Sun Bell Choir Performance, 7:30 pm
9 Jul Mon Yoga Class, 8 am
Readings: Bitten by the Lion; Poems from Travel, with Sam King, 7:30 pm
10 Jul Tue Poetry Lab: Experiments in Poetry Writing Class with Sam King, 9 am to 1 pm
Bell Choir Class, 4 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
11 Jul Wed Yoga Class, 8 am
12 Jul Thu Baker Island Home & Lighthouse Tour, 8:30 am to 3 pm; gather @ Town Dock at 8:25
(rain date Sunday July 15)
Movie, 7:30 pm
13 Jul Fri Yoga Class, 8 am
Private Reception for Vance Family, 12 noon
Meet the Artists: Filmmaker Bev Morris, 7:30 pm
14 Jul Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
15 Jul Sun Rain Date for Baker Island Tour
Gretchen Westphal's Islander's Choice Movie, 7:30 pm
16 Jul Mon Yoga Class, 8 am
Historic Slide Show by Phil Whitney, 7:30 pm
17 Jul Tue Basket Making Class with Christy Benson, 9 am to 1 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
18 Jul Wed Yoga Class, 8 am
Fundamentals of Watercolor Class with Mark Howard, 10 am to 1 pm - CANCELLED
19 Jul Thu CIRT's Growing Great Cranberry Presentation, 4:30 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
20 Jul Fri Yoga Class, 8 am
Mailart Show Opening Reception, 5 pm
Guitar Duo "El Camino Real", immediately after Reception, around 6 pm
21 Jul Sat Mailart Show by Rebecca Guyver, 10 am to 4 pm
(on display thru July 27)
Movie, 7:30 pm
22 Jul Sun GCIHS Board Meeting, 4 pm
Elaine Buchsbaum's Islander's Choice Movie, 7:30 pm
23 Jul Mon Yoga Class, 8 am
Rachel Field Poetry Recital by Joy Sprague, 4 pm
24 Jul Tue Mailart Class by Rebecca Guyver, 9 am to 1 pm
League of Towns Meeting, 10 am
Movie, 7:30 pm
25 Jul Wed Yoga Class, 8 am
Child Craft Class with Charlotte Harlan, 10 am to 1 pm
Fundamentals of Watercolor Class with Mark Howard, 10 am to 1 pm - CANCELLED
26 Jul Thu Child Craft Class with Charlotte Harlan, 10 am to 1 pm
Maine in the Revolutionary War, a talk by author Mike Cecere, 4 pm 2 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
27 Jul Fri Yoga Class, 8 am
Child Craft Class with Charlotte Harlan, 10 am to 1 pm
Talk by Ashley Bryan, 2 pm
Open Studio, 4 pm @ Heliker-LaHotan Foundation
Open Mic, 7:30 pm
28 Jul Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
29 Jul Sun Joan Shorey's Islander's Choice Movie, 7:30 pm
30 Jul Mon Yoga Class, 8 am
Indians on Cranberry Island Talk by Rebecca Cole-Will, 4 pm
31 Jul Tue Making Braided Rope Wristlets Class with Dick Atlee, 10 am to 12 noon; see wristlets
Movie, 7:30 pm
AUGUST   calendar
1 Aug Wed Yoga Class, 8 am
Art of the Cranberry Isles Opening Reception, 7:30 pm
2 Aug Thu Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am to 4 pm
(on display thru Aug 8)
Movie, 7:30 pm
3 Aug Fri Yoga Class, 8 am
Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am to 4 pm
4 Aug Sat Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am to 4 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
5 Aug Sun Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am to 4 pm
Alice Murphy's Islander's Choice Movie, 7:30 pm
6 Aug Mon Yoga Class, 8 am
Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am to 4 pm
7 Aug Tue Rug Hooking Class with Christy Benson, 9 am to 12 noon
Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am to 4 pm
Author Talk by Diana Stoll, 4:30 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
8 Aug Wed Yoga Class, 8 am
LADIES AID FAIR, 10:15 am @ Community Center
Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit (Last Day), 10 am to 4 pm
9 Aug Thu Movie, 7:30 pm
10 Aug Fri Yoga Class, 8 am
Meet the Artists, 4 pm
Sea Shanty Show by Stephen Sanfilippo, 7:30 pm
11 Aug Sat Sam King Art Show Opening Reception, 5 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
12 Aug Sun Sam King Art Show, 10 am to 4 pm thru August 17
Steve Spurling Day, 2 pm
Kitty Pierson's Islander's Choice Movie, 7:30 pm
13 Aug Mon Yoga Class, 8 am
My Influences: Poets I Love and their Effect on my Work by Sam King, 7:30 pm
14 Aug Tue Poetry Bazaar: Readings in Contemporary Poetry, Class with Sam King, 9 am to 1 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
15 Aug Wed Yoga Class, 8 am
CIRT's Growing Great Cranberry Presentation, 4:30 pm
16 Aug Thu Movie, 7:30 pm
17 Aug Fri Yoga Class, 8 am
Historic Slide Show with Phil Whitney, 4:30 pm
18 Aug Sat Linda Madara Photography Opening Reception, 5 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
19 Aug Sun Linda Madara Photography Show, 10 am to 4 pm thru Aug 23
GCIHS Board Meeting, 4 pm
20 Aug Mon Yoga Class, 8 am
Rachel Field Poetry Recital by Joy Sprague, 4 pm
21 Aug Tue Tile Painting Class with Gail Grandgent, 9 am - 12 noon
Movie, 7:30 pm
22 Aug Wed Yoga Class, 8 am
Spinning Demo with Gail Grandgent and the Wednesday Spinners, 10 am
GCIHS Annual Meeting and Local Movie Dancing at the Mill, 7:30 pm
23 Aug Thu Open Studio, 4 pm @ Heliker-LaHotan Foundation
Movie, 7:30 pm
24 Aug Fri Yoga Class, 8 am
25 Aug Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
27 Aug Mon Yoga Class, 8 am
28 Aug Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
29 Aug Wed Yoga Class, 8 am
Historic Slide Show with Phil Whitney, 7:30 pm
30 Aug Thu Movie, 7:30 pm
31 Aug Fri Yoga Class, 8 am
Open Mic, 7:30 pm
SEPTEMBER   calendar
1 Sep Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
4 Sep Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
5 Sep Wed Meet the Artists, 4 pm
Historic Slide Show with Phil Whitney, 7:30 pm
6 Sep Thu Movie, 7:30 pm
8 Sep Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
11 Sep Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
13 Sep Thu Movie (last Thursday movie of the season), 7:30 pm
15 Sep Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
16 Sep Sun GCIHS Board Meeting, 4 pm
18 Sep Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
22 Sep Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
25 Sep Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
28 Sep Fri Open Studio, 4 pm @ Heliker-LaHotan Foundation
Open Mic, 7:30 pm
29 Sep Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
OCTOBER   calendar
2 Oct Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
6 Oct Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
9 Oct Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
13 Oct Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
16 Oct Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
20 Oct Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
23 Oct Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
27 Oct Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
30 Oct Tue Last Movie of the season, 7:30 pm
NOVEMBER   calendar
2 Nov Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
9 Nov Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
16 Nov Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
23 Nov Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
30 Nov Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
DECEMBER   calendar
7 Dec Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
14 Dec Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
21 Dec Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
28 Dec Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm

Note: all movies are presented by the Great Cranberry Library, in cooperation with GCIHS.

page last updated March 19, 2013