CRANBERRY HOUSE

2013 Events Daily List

other years

All events are at Cranberry House, unless otherwise noted

JANUARY   calendar
   
FEBRUARY   calendar
28 Feb Thu Archival meeting, 10 am
MARCH   calendar
15 Mar Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
22 Mar Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
29 Mar Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
APRIL   calendar
2 Apr Tue Seaside Playhouse: First Movie of the season, 7:30 pm
(continuing every Tuesday and Saturday thru October)
6 Apr Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
9 Apr Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
13 Apr Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
16 Apr Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
20 Apr Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
21 Apr Sun Running ME to DC Talk by Gary Allen, 1 pm
23 Apr Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
27 Apr Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
30 Apr Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
MAY   calendar
4 May Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
7 May Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
11 May Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
14 May Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
18 May Sat Guided Birdwatching Tour with Terry Towne and Kirk Gentalen of Maine Coast Heritage Trust, 8 am, starting @ Town Dock
Movie, 7:30 pm
21 May Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
25 May Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
28 May Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
JUNE   calendar
1 Jun Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
4 Jun Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
8 Jun Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
11 Jun Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
15 Jun Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
18 Jun Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
19 Jun Wed Historical Slide Show by Phil Whitney, 7:30 pm
20 Jun Thu First Thursday Movie of the season, 7:30 pm
(continuing every Thursday thru Sept 12)
21 Jun Fri Meet the Heliker-LaHotan Ceramic Artist, Stephen Rodriguez, 4:30 pm
22 Jun Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
25 Jun Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
27 Jun Thu Movie, 7:30 pm
29 Jun Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
30 Jun Sun Open House, with Barbershop Quartet "A Little Bit Off the Top", 11:30 - 2:30 pm
Mailboat Art Show by Wini Smart, 10 am - 4 pm (running thru July 6)
Bennett & Perkins Folk Music concert, 7 pm (suggested donation $10)
JULY   calendar
1 Jul Mon Mailboat Art Show by Wini Smart, 10 am - 4 pm
2 Jul Tue Mailboat Art Show by Wini Smart, 10 am - 4 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
3 Jul Wed Mailboat Art Show by Wini Smart, 10 am - 4 pm
4 Jul Thu Mailboat Art Show by Wini Smart, 10 am - 4 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
5 Jul Fri Talk: Earlier Days of the Maine Seacoast Mission's Sunbeam, with Ted Hoskins and Sherwood Carr, 2 pm
Mailboat Art Show by Wini Smart, 10 am - 4 pm
6 Jul Sat Mailboat Art Show by Wini Smart, 10 am - 4 pm (last day)
Movie, 7:30 pm
7 Jul Sun Heliker-LaHotan Meet the Artists: J. Bowman, K. Smith, & J. Rosengarten, 4:30 pm
9 Jul Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
10 Jul Wed David Little discusses his new book, Art of Katahdin, 2 pm
11 Jul Thu Community Play Reading, hosted by Bonnie Alpert, of Laughter on the 23rd Floor, by Neil Simon, 7 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
12 Jul Fri Guided Tour and Nature Walk with Peter Buchsbaum, 11 am
Heliker-LaHotan Meet the Artists: P. Lloyd-Jones and V. Rees, 4:30 pm
Presentation by Earl Brechlin: US Navy Blimp K-14 Shot Down Off the Cranberrys During WWII, 7 pm
13 Jul Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
15 Jul Mon Running ME to DC Talk by Gary Allen, 7:30 pm
16 Jul Tue Sam King Writing Workshop (writing from Tissue Paper Collage Making), $35, 10 am - 2 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
18 Jul Thu Silk Painting Class with Gail Grandgent, $25, 10 am - 12 noon
Movie, 7:30 pm
19 Jul Fri Basics of Watercolor Class with Mark Howard, $50, 10 am - 1 pm
20 Jul Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
21 Jul Sun

A Poetry Performance by Michael Glaser and Simon Spire, 7:30 pm

22 Jul Mon Kid's Art Workshop with Charlotte Harlan, $30 for all 3 days, 10 am - 1 pm (running thru July 24)
23 Jul Tue Kid's Art Workshop with Charlotte Harlan, 10 am - 1 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
24 Jul Wed Kid's Art Workshop with Charlotte Harlan, 10 am - 1 pm (last day)
Guided Tour and Nature Walk with Peter Buchsbaum, 11 am
25 Jul Thu Cranberry House Fundraising Cruise to Frenchboro, details to follow, 8 am @ GCI dock (returning to GCI around 2 pm)
Movie, 7:30 pm
26 Jul Fri Heliker-LaHotan Open Studios, 4 pm @ Heliker-LaHotan
Ricky Baker Band (Rick Cegalis), 7:30 pm
27 Jul Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
29 Jul Mon Reception for Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 7 pm
30 Jul Tue Making Rope Wristlets, by Dick Atlee, 10 am - 12 noon
Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
31 Jul Wed Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm
AUGUST   calendar
1 Aug Thu Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
2 Aug Fri Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm
3 Aug Sat Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
4 Aug Sun Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm
5 Aug Mon Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm
6 Aug Tue Heliker-LaHotan Meet the Artists: S. Amons, A. Masters, K. Missett, & S. Dittenber, 4:30 pm
Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
7 Aug Wed Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm
8 Aug Thu Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm (last day)
Movie, 7:30 pm
9 Aug Fri Cristy Benson Craft Class: Making a Fancy Knot Trivet, $25, 10 am - 1 pm
10 Aug Sat Judy Garland: Moments of Magic, a talk by Lawrence Schulman, MDI-based music producer, historian, and critic, 5:30 pm
Judy Garland Movie selected by Mr. Schulman, 7:30 pm
11 Aug Sun Open House, with down home fiddling by Ralph Stanley, 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
12 Aug Mon Sam King Writing Workshop (Writing the Elegy), $35, 10 am - 2 pm
13 Aug Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
14 Aug Wed Live and Silent Auction to benefit Cranberry House, 4 pm
15 Aug Thu Rain Day for Live & Silent Auction (see above), 4 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
16 Aug Fri Geology Prof. Sheila Seaman leads a hike and shows slides on the unique rock formations of Cranberry Island, 10:30 am (hike) & 1:30 pm (slides)
17 Aug Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
18 Aug Sun Concert by Masonabu Ikemiya, 2 pm @ Church, to benefit Cranberry House
Linda Madara Photography Show, 4:30 pm (following the concert) @ Cranberry House
19 Aug Mon Running ME to DC Talk by Gary Allen, 7:30 pm @ Cranberry House
20 Aug Tue Sam King reads from her new book, Dropping Into the Flower, 3 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
21 Aug Wed Photography Roundtable Discussion, "Photos of Children of the World", with Linda Madara, 11 am
GCIHS Annual Meeting, 7:30 pm
22 Aug Thu Guided Tour and Nature Walk with Peter Buchsbaum, 11 am
Heliker-LaHotan Talk with Jed Perl, 5 pm Cancelled
Movie, 7:30 pm
23 Aug Fri

Amanda Crafts reads Rachel Field's story-poem The Old Gods Come to Somesville, Maine, with introduction written by Carl Little, 7:30 pm

24 Aug Sat Heliker-LaHotan Open Studio, 4 pm @ Heliker-LaHotan
Movie, 7:30 pm
26 Aug Mon Charles Dunbar talk on the Middle East, 7:30 pm
27 Aug Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
28 Aug Wed Historical Slide Show by Phil Whitney, 7:30 pm
29 Aug Thu Guided Tour and Nature Walk with Peter Buchsbaum, 11 am
Movie, 7:30 pm
31 Aug Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
SEPTEMBER   calendar
3 Sep Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
5 Sep Thu Movie, 7:30 pm
7 Sep Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
10 Sep Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
12 Sep Thu Movie, 7:30 pm (last Thursday movie of the season)
14 Sep Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
17 Sep Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
21 Sep Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
24 Sep Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
28 Sep Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
OCTOBER   calendar
1 Oct Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
5 Oct Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
8 Oct Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
12 Oct Sat Tom Powell Reception, 1:30 pm
Movie, 7:30 pm
15 Oct Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
19 Oct Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
22 Oct Tue Movie, 7:30 pm
26 Oct Sat Movie, 7:30 pm
29 Oct Tue Last Movie of the season, 7:30 pm
NOVEMBER   calendar
1 Nov Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
8 Nov Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
15 Nov Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
22 Nov Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
29 Nov Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
DECEMBER   calendar
6 Dec Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
13 Dec Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
20 Dec Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm
27 Dec Fri Archival meeting, 1 pm

Note: all movies are presented by the Great Cranberry Library, in cooperation with GCIHS.

page last updated October 11, 2013