other years
last modified 19 August 2013
JULY 2013 Events of import to Great Cranberry Island

Movies every Tue, Thu, & Sat, 7:30 pm @ Cranberry House
Library Open
Mon - Fri, 10 am - 3 pm
Tennis Classes:
every Mon, Wed, & Fri, 9 am (beginners), 10 am (advanced)

1 July Mon Mailboat Art Show by Wini Smart, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House
2 July Tue Mailboat Art Show by Wini Smart, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House
3 July Wed Mailboat Art Show by Wini Smart, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House
4 July Thu Mailboat Art Show by Wini Smart, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House
5 July Fri Talk: Earlier Days of the Maine Seacoast Mission's Sunbeam, with former crew, pastor Ted Hoskins and engineer Sherwood Carr, 2 pm @ Cranberry House
Mailboat Art Show by Wini Smart, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House
6 July Sat Mailboat Art Show by Wini Smart, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House (last day)
7 July Sun Heliker-LaHotan Meet the Artists: J. Bowman, K. Smith, & J. Rosengarten, 4:30 pm @ Cranberry House
10 July Wed David Little discusses his new book, Art of Katahdin, 2 pm @ Cranberry House
Islesford Historical Society Annual Meeting, 7:30 pm @ Islesford Neighborhood House
Pie & Coffee Night at the Ladies Aid, 7:30 pm @ Ladies Aid
11 July Thu Bonnie Alpert hosts a Community Play Reading of Laughter on the 23rd Floor, by Neil Simon, 7 pm @ Cranberry House
12 July Fri Guided Tour and Nature Walk with Peter Buchsbaum, 11 am @ Cranberry House
Heliker-LaHotan Meet the Artists: P. Lloyd-Jones and V. Rees, 4:30 pm @ Cranberry House
Presentation by Earl Brechlin: US Navy Blimp K-14 Shot Down Off the Cranberrys During WWII, 7 pm @ Cranberry House
15 July Mon Childrens Event at the Library (adults too!): Antonio Rocha, Storyteller, Mime, and Actor, time TBA @ Library. more info
Running ME to DC Talk by Gary Allen, 7:30 pm @ Cranberry House
16 July Tue Sam King Writing Workshop (writing from Tissue Paper Collage Making), $35, 10 am - 2 pm @ Cranberry House
17 July Wed High Tea & Hats, sponsored by the Library
18 July Thu Silk Painting Class with Gail Grandgent, $25, 10 am - 12 noon @ Cranberry House
Futures Group Annual Meeting, 4 pm @ Ladies Aid
19 July Fri Basics of Watercolor Class with Mark Howard, $50, 10 am - 1 pm @ Cranberry House
20 July Sat Barn Sale, 1 - 3 pm @ Ladies Aid Barn
21 July Sun A Poetry Performance by Michael Glaser and Simon Spire, 7:30 pm @ Cranberry House
22 July Mon Kid's Art Workshop with Charlotte Harlan, $30 for all 3 days,, 10 am - 1 pm @ Cranberry House (running thru July 24)
23 July Tue Kid's Art Workshop with Charlotte Harlan, 10 am - 1 pm @ Cranberry House
24 July Wed Kid's Art Workshop with Charlotte Harlan, 10 am - 1 pm @ Cranberry House
Guided Tour and Nature Walk with Peter Buchsbaum, 11 am @ Cranberry House
25 July Thu Cranberry House Fundraising Cruise to Frenchboro, 8 am @ GCI dock (returning to GCI around 2 pm)
26 July Fri Heliker-LaHotan Open Studios, 4 pm @ Heliker-LaHotan
Ricky Baker Band (Rick Cegalis), 7:30 pm @ Cranberry House
27 July Sat GCI 50K Ultra Marathon, early start 10:30 am, official start 11:30 am @ Church
29 July Mon Reception for Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 7 pm @ Cranberry House
30 July Tue Making Rope Wristlets Class with Dick Atlee, 10 am - 12 noon @ Cranberry House
Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House (running thru Aug 7)
Night of Poetry & Music, to benefit the Library, 7 pm @ Church
31 July Wed Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House

AUGUST 2013 Events of import to Great Cranberry Island

Movies every Tue Thu & Sat, 7:30 pm @ Cranberry House
Library Open
Mon - Fri, 10 am - 3 pm
Tennis Classes:
every Mon, Wed, & Fri, 9 am (beginners), 10 am (advanced)

1 Aug Thu Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House
2 Aug Fri Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House
3 Aug Sat Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House
4 Aug Sun Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House
5 Aug Mon Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House
6 Aug Tue Heliker-LaHotan Meet the Artists, S. Amons, A. Masters, K. Missett, & S. Dittenber, 4:30 pm @ Cranberry House
Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House
7 Aug Wed GCI Ladies Aid Fair , 10:30 am @ Church and Firehall
Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House
8 Aug Thu Art of the Cranberry Isles Exhibit, 10 am - 4 pm @ Cranberry House (last day)
9 Aug Fri Cristy Benson Craft Class: Making a Fancy Knot Trivet, $25, 10 am - 1 pm @ Cranberry House
10 Aug Sat Judy Garland: Moments of Magic, a talk by Lawrence Schulman, MDI-based music producer, historian, and critic, 5:30 pm @ Cranberry House
Followed by a favorite Judy Garland movie selected by Mr. Schulman, 7:30 pm @ Cranberry House
11 Aug Sun Open House, with down home fiddling by Ralph Stanley; island musicians are invited to come join in; also, archivist Anne Grulich will explain her work, 11:30 am - 2 pm @ Cranberry House
12 Aug Mon Sam King Writing Workshop (Writing the Elegy), $35, 10 am - 2 pm @ Cranberry House
13 Aug Tue Library Board Meeting, 4:45 pm @ Library
14 Aug Wed Live & Silent Auction, to benefit Cranberry House, 4 pm @ Cranberry House (rain day Aug 15)
15 Aug Thu Rain Day for Live & Silent Auction (see above), 4 pm @ Cranberry House
Futures Group Meeting, 4 pm @ Ladies Aid
16 Aug Fri Geology Prof. Sheila Seaman leads a hike and shows slides on the unique rock formations of Cranberry Island, 10:30 am (hike) & 1:30 pm (slides) @ Cranberry House
18 Aug Sun Concert: Masonabu Ikemiya, 2 pm @ Church, to benefit Cranberry House
Linda Madara Photography Show, 4:30 pm (following the concert) @ Cranberry House
19 Aug Mon Running ME to DC Talk by Gary Allen, 7:30 pm @ Cranberry House
20 Aug Tue Sam King reads from her new book, Dropping Into the Flower, 3 pm @ Cranberry House
21 Aug Wed Photography Roundtable Discussion, "Photos of Children of the World", with Linda Madara, 11 am @ Cranberry House
GCIHS Annual Meeting, 7:30 pm @ Cranberry House
22 Aug Thu Heliker-LaHotan Talk with Jed Perl, 5 pm @ Cranberry House Cancelled
23 Aug Fri Amanda Crafts reads Rachel Field's story-poem The Old Gods Come to Somesville, Maine, with introduction written by Carl Little, 7:30 pm @ Cranberry House
24 Aug Sat Heliker-LaHotan Open Studio, 4 pm @ Heliker-LaHotan
26 Aug Mon Charles Dunbar talk on the Middle East, 7:30 pm @ Cranberry House
28 Aug Wed Historical Slide Show by Phil Whitney, 7:30 pm @ Cranberry House

Return to Great Cranberry Island
Return home___